top of page
  • Writer's pictureRuth Sanchez

To Mourn

To mourn a loss that I have yet to lose,

A lover I have not spoken to

For fear got the best of me

When will love ever be free?


I dream of the day our hands intertwine

For me to be yours, and you to be mine.

But an overwhelming guilt takes over,

A guilt ridden October.


I will live in the shadow that I cast

Because I fall in love way too fast,

These emotions will surely bring you harm

And yet I seek solace in your arms


Realizations come crashing in

Like waves of sadness from within,

Some words are better left unsaid

Away from you I quickly fled


With my heart filled with regret

I wake up in a cold sweat

Yearning for you is all I can do

As I continue mourning my love for you

 
Artwork by Jewel Corpuz

Recent Posts

See All

Waltz of a Phantom

What exactly composes a nightmare? Is it a past that lies heavy on your chest? Or perhaps a fear you are too petrified to confront?...

The Law of Conservation of Energy

“The law of conservation of energy states that energy can neither be created nor destroyed, only transformed from one form to another.”...

Comentarios


bottom of page